Chicago

July 9, 2011

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Matt and I took a week of leave and visited his parents in Chicago. It was his birthday on July 1 and his dad’s on the 5th. let me just say that i gained probably a good 5 lbs. the first day alone. not kidding. the first day we got to his parents house I “had” to have Monical’s (pizza) for lunch.  eh. not that great but Matt loves it. Then of course for dinner we had to go to Aurelio’s (pizza again) for dinner with his parents and his brother.  BEST PIZZA I’VE EVER HAD. it is not traditional deep dish chicago pizza, its pizza that is flat but the pizza is bubbled. omg.  amazingness. I would have eaten alot more of that pizza had I not been pizza’d out having had my fill of pizza for both lunch and dinner.  We met up with some of his friends Sara and Jessica.

The next day we headed out to Sandusky, Ohio to go to Cedar Point for Matt’s birthday. It’s an amusement park that is known for having the world’s best roller coasters, and it definetly exceeded my expectations, it was pretty awesome. We ate at a little bar inside and the waitress brought out a birthday cake for Matt and everyone sang to him. The cake was suprisingly delicious.  Matt found a section of the park that was for the log/water ride. You pay a quarter and then get to shoot water at the people in the log ride. he sat there for a good hour and played that with a little girl who was there with her dad.  The three of them were manning all six water guns. It was pretty cute she kept laughing everytime they suprised the riders with a shot of water.

We then stayed in downtown Chicago at the Congress Hotel for three days. We went to Taste of Chicago two of the days. Went to the Field Museum. Museum of Science and Industry. Saw the Sears (now Willis) Tower. Saw all the shopping down Michigan Ave. The best part for me though was all the local hometown bars and restaurants that are downtown.  Matt and I have a tendancy to bar hop in whatever city we are in, and we found some really good Irish bars while in town.  Rush street, Hudson street and State street are full of good bars and restaurants.

The rest of the trip was relaxed I think anyways.  We went back to Matt’s mom and dad’s house in Bradley. Matt took me to “Poop Hill” where they tube when its been snowing. We went down to the old quarry and Matt fished… caught a big fish and a small one.  Matt brought me to a place called Perry Farms,  they have a long pathway that circles a wildlife/natural preserve. It leads down to the river, but Matt brought me to an area that has a pond. We eventually went and got Matt’s fishing pole and he tried fishing there.  They had lots of tadpoles and frogs… yet no fish.  I enjoyed sitting in my chair and reading my magazines so it was still a success 🙂

Well that’s all the fun we had. Thank you Ann and Ron for letting us sleep on your floor, it was greatly appreciated!  enjoy the photos

Leave a comment